When I Speak

When I speak,
I try to speak to
not for.

Too often, when people say “I love you,”
They’re looking into a mirror
Expecting the phrase repeated
For them.

To often, when people say “I love you,”
They’re putting words in someone’s mouth.
If those words are not repeated
To them
they’re unsettled, surprised.

When I give,
I try to give to
Not for.

This means: do what you will with this gift.
It is beyond my control.
It was sent to you, not for me,
And not for anything I could gain in return.

When I love,
I try to love
Not in order to
Or in place of
But simply to.

The “to” in “I love to you” transports
My words from me
To you. They are yours now.
Do with them what you will.

Leave a Reply

